Pigeon Forge, TN

Recent Articles

East Tennessee Track Information and Links

For NASCAR News and Commentary

Owens, Jimmy

« Previous Entries

Jimmy Owens stays hot with Lucas Oil win in Florence

Sunday, June 1st, 2014

UNION, KY (May 31, 2014) – Jimmy Owens led a Club 29 Race Cars sweep of the top two spots Saturday Night at Florence Speedway. Owens took the lead from Duane Chamberlain just past the half-way mark and went on to win his third career Ralph Latham Memorial Race sanctioned by the Lucas [...]

Jimmy Owens scores first Lucas Oil win of 2014 at LaSalle

Sunday, May 18th, 2014

La Salle, IL (May 17, 2014) – The 3-time and defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Jimmy Owens scored his first series win of the season on Saturday Night at LaSalle Speedway. Owens survived a classic side-by-side battle with Jared Landers after over taking Scott Bloomquist for second. Owens then [...]

Scott Bloomquist beats out Jimmy Owens for Lucas Oil win in Illinois

Saturday, May 3rd, 2014

PONTOON BEACH, IL (May 2, 2014) – Scott Bloomquist led all 100 laps to win tonight’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Spring Classic at Tri-City Speedway. Bloomquist was only challenged a few times by runner-up Jimmy Owens as he won for the second time in the last three LOLMDS races.
Trailing Bloomquist and Owens to [...]

Jimmy Owens to be crowned at Lucas Oil banquet on Thursday night

Monday, December 9th, 2013

WAYCROSS, GA (December 9, 2013) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will host its championship awards banquet this Thursday night December 12th at the magnificent Lucas Oil Estate in Carmel, IN. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will honor and celebrate the 2013 season and series champion [...]

Jimmy Owens to receive big payout for third Lucas Oil title

Wednesday, November 20th, 2013

WAYCROSS, GA (November 20, 2013) – Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN secured his third consecutive Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship in 2013. The “Newport Nightmare” and the Reece Monument Racing Team put up some amazing stats during the 2013 LOLMDS season. Owens will take home $104,000 in cash awards at the Lucas [...]

Jimmy Owens closes on third title as Lucas Oil heads to Georgia for big weekend

Friday, October 4th, 2013

WAYCROSS, GA (October 2, 2013) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will travel back to the state of Georgia this weekend and visit two tracks that have been on the schedule every year since the series was formed in 2005. This weekend’s events will take place on Saturday night, October 5th with the [...]

Strong East Tennessee contingent in Eldora seeking World 100 glory

Thursday, September 5th, 2013

By Richard Allen
Although its $46,000-to-win purse may not be a flashy as that of its June counterpart, the World 100 is generally regarded as the most prestigious of all dirt late model races. And as a result, more than 100 drivers and cars have made their way to the Eldora Speedway in tiny Rossburg, Ohio for a [...]

Jimmy Owens collects big check at Hillbilly 100

Monday, September 2nd, 2013

RIPLEY, WV (September 1, 2013) Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points leader, Jimmy Owens, won his second career Hillbilly 100 on Sunday Night at I-77 Raceway Park.  Owens took the lead on lap 61 and went on to win his 8th series event in 2013 and $25,000 for winning the Lucas Oil Late [...]

Billy Moyer wins Lucas Oil race in Portsmouth as Jimmy Owens extends points lead

Sunday, September 1st, 2013

PORTSMOUTH, OH (August 31, 2013) – It has been several years since Hall-of-Famer Billy Moyer last visited Portsmouth Raceway Park. After Saturday night, he can put his name in the hat as a contender for the Dirt Track World Championship at PRP in October. He led all the way as he captured the Pepsi 50 River [...]

Jimmy Owens extends Lucas Oil series lead with victory in Ohio

Saturday, August 31st, 2013

ATTICA, OH (August 30, 2013) – Jimmy Owens continued his stronghold on the series with his 7th victory on Friday Night at Attica Raceway Park. He took the lead on lap six and led the rest of the way, pocketing $10,000 for the win. Brian Birkhofer came home in second, followed by Earl Pearson Jr., [...]

« Previous Entries